Posted by: monsonmadness | June 19, 2011

My mothers

Everybody needs some kind of mother figure in their lives, and I have several. Over the last month, my “mothers” have gone above and beyond to help and support me as I have tried to do all of the many tasks that have been required of me. I wanted to let them know how much I appreciate them, and the sacrifices that they have made for me.

I have a dear friend called Anteres who I only see every 4 or 5 years, but she is like a mother to me. I know she doesn’t like it when I say that because she is only 10 years older than me, and would prefer it if I called her a sister, but I see her more as a mother because of the excellent role model that she has been for me in my life. When I moved to Utah to go to BYU, I didn’t know a soul. Anteres and her sweet family took me into their home and “raised” me from an excitement-seeking young single adult, to someone who knew what she really wanted in life. I was shown that life is not about things, thrills, or adventures, but about family, love, and serving the Lord. Anteres and her family has a huge impact on the wife and mother that I am today, and the joy that I find in these roles. I was so happy that I was able to visit with Anteres before I moved, she met me down in Provo to help with the kids when I had to take them all for Typhoid shots. She has always been a huge cheerleader and supporter and is one of those people that just makes you feel like you’re doing things right. I love her.

Then I have my Kaysville mother. Carolee and I have been visiting teaching companions for about 4 or 5 years. We just work well together. If you don’t know what visiting teaching is, check out this link: http://lds.org/service/serving-in-the-church/relief-society/visiting-teaching-messages?lang=eng Anyway, I could not have done this move without Carolee and her husband. They let us borrow their truck and trailer every time we had to move things to Salt Lake or to our storage units. They worked so hard to help me move out of my house and clean it up (and they are the age of my parents!) so it took effort and sacrifice. To top it all off, Carolee offered to put me up for bed and breakfast on the night that I moved so that I would have a nice place to sleep and get some good rest. Some people think this is an odd friendship, but that’s the point, she is more like my mother than my friend. She’s just always there for me. Thank you Carolee.

My mother-in-law Vera has sacrificed so much to help me over the last few weeks. She has been watching my kids a lot, including taking them overnight which is no small feat. 6 kids aged 8 and under takes a lot of energy, no matter who you are. She also came to my house and cleaned all the windows in the blazing sun, and made them look sparkling. She did temporarily lose her squeegie in the strawberry patch, but after searching for a long time, and eating lots of strawberries, we found it! She also sacrificed by giving us her nice SUV to use after we shipped our mini van. The trade off? She got to drive Michael’s old car which just so happened to die on her the day after she got it from us. Vera takes it to get fixed with no word of complaint, how would I have been able to do that with all the kids and a house to move out of? She has been so supportive and giving, and now she is letting us stay in her Midway home which has been such a huge blessing. After weeks of not being able to give the kids very much attention, we are enjoying relaxing and spending some quality time together before we fly out to meet Michael. Thank you Vera, you have saved me so many times.

My own mother has always supported us as best she can across the miles, and has always been willing to cross those miles to help me. She sacrifices her personal comfort to spend hours on airplanes to come and help us out and make relationships with the kids. She also volunteers to watch the kids so that Michael and I can have some time together. She is always there for the important things, babies being born, blessings, and now she will be flying something like 42 ridiculous hours to come and support Benjamin as he gets baptised in July. She wouldn’t miss it for the world, and doesn’t care that she’ll probably be sleeping on the couch, helping me unpack, and that we won’t have discovered all of the fun places to go yet. She doesn’t mind, she just wants Benjamin to know that she loves him, and I love her for that.

Lastly, my new mother figure is Ali Pili, and we have never met. Yes, that does sound strange doesn’t it? Ali is a person who was referred to me by a neighbor whose mother is best friends with Ali…did you get that? Anyway, Ali married a Samoan and lives in American Samoa. She has spent countless hours emailing and calling me and giving me advice on what to bring, medications I’ll need, and trying to find us housing and shipping companies. She has been a wealth of information to us, and has said that I can call her “Auntie Ali” So here’s the best part. This lady who I don’t really know, has offered to help me fly with the kids from Hawaii to American Samoa. Can you think of anything more unselfish that that? Long flights are horrible enough as they are traveling as a adult, but to travel with little kids, and ones that you don’t even know, now that is service, and so I feel indebted to her as I do to all of my mother figures above.

I like what Elder Foster said last April in General Conference. “Perhaps the reason we respond so universally to our mothers’ love is because it typifies the love of our Savior.”

I am so grateful to women who love, sacrifice, and serve for me and my family, with no thought of anything in return. These women have strengthened me and uplifted me, and make me want to show that same love to others. Thank you for your examples, and thank you Heavenly Father, for sending us mothers.

http://lds.org/general-conference/2010/04/mother-told-me?lang=eng&query=mother

Responses

  1. That was beautiful Helen. Such great women you have in your life! What great blessings.

  2. Hi Helen,
    I can’t believe you have moved to Samoa. The pictures that Michael posted looked beautiful. I love the beach. How did Michael get there.? Does he have a new job ?
    It sounds like you have a great adventure ahead of you. Have fun ! Aunt Judy

  3. Helen, Thank you for sharing. You are the best and your testimony strengthens mine.

  4. HELEN!!!!!! I agree with your Aunt Judy. I can’t believe you’re in Samoa. Good grief! I’m sure you posted all the information on your Facebook page and I have just been too lazy to check. I’ll expect the whole scoop at some point. Will you post it on this blog?

    Congratulations and I hope you and the family love living in Samoa! I imagine it would be too hot for me, but I’m sure you’ll love it. The pictures are gorgeous!

    Lonette


Leave a Reply

Categories

