Posted by: monsonmadness | June 30, 2011

Feast

So I am a very happy girl tonight…”why”? you may ask…earlier today you were chasing spiders, centipedes, cockroaches and some other unidentifiable creatures out of your house, why the change in attitude? The answer? Food!

Food has a way of making me happy…very, very happy. I was nervous to come to American Samoa where we had been told it was hard to find meat, that there were no cucumbers, no strawberries, and lots of lots of tuna. Not exactly appetizing to me. Anyway, panic is over, we are going to be just fine. There are lots of small marts here to buy food for a reasonable price, but you never know what they’ll have in on any given day. Their fresh fruit and vegetables come in every 2-3 weeks, so you have to know what day to shop. If those marts don’t have what you want, you can go to Cost-u-Less which is just like Costco but without the membership. Cost-U-Less carries a huge variety of food, but it more expensive. It was so much fun going there last night and looking around and seeing so many familiar things though, I found it so reassuring. I was with my friend Ali and she was explaining to me that all of the cats in the store wandering around served a very useful purpose, they keep the rats away! Her friend had been shopping in Cost-u-less when a rat (who was running on one of the rafter above) fell off the rafter and landed on her shoulder! Can you imagine that? Gross. Anyway, I spent a lot of money on some good old comfort foods and feel great about things.

That’s not the purpose of this post though. I’ve got to tell you about a feast that we went to tonight. You may know that when Polynesians eat, they eat a lot, and when they put on a feast, it is a HUGE spread, and the bigger the occasion, the bigger the feast. Well, tonight Elder Haleck and his wife, who are members of our ward, returned from serving for three years as mission presidents of the Samoa Apia mission. Elder Haleck was called to be a member of the seventy in April of this year, and will report next week for his assignments. (For those of you who are completely confused at this point with the language of this paragraph, you can click on  “General Authorities” to get an explanation.) So, since they will only be here in American Samoa for a week, the members of the church met them at the airport, and brought them back to the cultural hall for a feast.

Elder and Sister Haleck bore their testimonies, and one of the things that struck me the most was that they both mentioned that we were living in the last days and seeing a lot of the signs of the times, but that we didn’t need to fear, that the Lord was aware of us, and everything was going according to His plan. I felt the Spirit as he said these things and testified of how President Thomas S. Monson is the living prophet on the earth today.

It was a pot luck party, so everyone brought something, and there was TONS of food. I liked that they had all of the children go up first, that was really nice. When it was my turn to go up, I was in heaven. Those of you who know me well know that I love all you can eat buffets, specifically Golden Corral and Chuck A Rama which lots of people turn their noses up at. Well, not me, what is better than eating something delicious? Eating 25 things that are delicious and not having to choose. This pot luck dinner was no exception, the tables were full of sticky rice balls, pork, chicken, beef, potatoes, ham, fried bananas, lots of fruit that I didn’t recognise, rolls, salads, vegetables, and loads of desserts. It was awesome, I ate so much food, and so did the kids, they kept going back for more. We met lots of new people and even found a babysitter so that we can go out for our anniversary next week. What a great evening. As I typed this, a 5 inch gecko just ran along the wall next to me and I jumped but didn’t scream. See…we’re really settling in!

Responses

  1. Love it! Thanks for keeping us all posted & sharing your amazing adventures with us all. You have a great writing style…..something else you are good at!!! Sending you & the family lots of love, hope all continues to go well and am looking forward to the continuing instalments… x

  2. Your blog looks great and you did such a great job! I love reading all your posts! They make me laugh, shiver and cry! We miss you!

  3. Awesome!! I love that they had all the children get their food first- that is so cool. What a relief to find familiar food.

  4. Normal food can definately make things easier. I love your blog. I’m so glad you are doing it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

