Posted by: monsonmadness | August 25, 2011

Settlers of Polynesia

I MISS PLAYING GAMES!!!!!! I am so BORED without my BOARD games (and the friends that go along with that of course!). I didn’t even bring any games with me because I knew Michael wouldn’t play. When my Mum came, she brought a few with us so that we could play in the evenings, but it was the soft stuff, you know, triominoes, mancala, rummikub etc. I need something hard core! I miss playing Dominion and Settlers of Catan. I’ve been thinking about creating a new version. Hey, they made Settlers of Zarahemla after all. How about a Settlers of Polynesia? I’ll come up with the ideas, someone else get the patent/permissions, and we’ll split the profits 50/50. Who’s in with me? Of course, if you’re in, you’d better be a really good friend who wants to fly down here and stay for a week or two so that you know what I’m talking about and so that we can practice before it goes on the market…

Anyway, since the Cities and Knights version is the best, we should continue with that comparision.

Instead of the Barbarian ship coming and crashing, it would just be a tsunami wave.

Instead of knights, it would be chiefs (matai). Instead of the robber, it would be wild dogs. When you roll a 7, you can chase the wild dogs away.

The resources would be a little bit different. Instead of wheat, sand. Instead of ore, coconuts. Instead of sheep, chickens. Instead of brick, cinder blocks, and instead of wood, taro leaves. Now I realise that you can’t build with all of these resources, but they are great for trading, and very hot items down here in the Pacific!

Instead of the cloth, coin and paper commodities, the most valuable commodities that are hard to find here are medicines, car parts, and ink cartridges. Those would be the commodities used in Settler’s of Polynesia.

Instead of using 2 bricks to build a city wall, you would just use two cinder blocks to upgrade to a mosquito net. Actually, there wouldn’t be cities at all, instead of a settlement it would be a fale, instead of a city, a home with walls, and instead of a metropolis, you get the Tradewinds hotel.

When someone plays the wedding card, you don’t get two cards for free, you just have to provide a bag of flour and a whole pig to the player on your right.

You wouldn’t get victory points for building the longest road, just a victory point every time you stopped to fix a pot hole.

So…who wants to play with me?

Responses

  1. This is hilarious. I love it! Great idea Helen!

  2. I can’t believe you didn’t take your games!!! I’ve only played Settlers of Catan twice- twice in a row at your house! They have it at the cabin, maybe Miles and I should give it a try. Good luck with your version! 😉

  3. You have too much time on your hands or something:) Tell you what, you pay for my air fare, and I will come for a visit, help you create your game, then you can pocket all of the profits….sound good? You are too funny!

  4. come play at my house!! seriously. we havne’t played settler in a long time. let’s do it tonight! or tomorrow. or the next day. etc.

    • it’s here…on the island???? Wow! Shocker. Ok, we seriously need to get together and play. I’ll call you…


Leave a Reply

Categories

