Posted by: monsonmadness | November 22, 2011

Run over dog and cool weather

Two experiences to share:

First, I witnessed a horrible thing today. As you know, the feral dogs are everywhere. They are mangy and gross, and their bones stick out because they are starving and had to search through garbage to find things to eat. Today I saw a pathetically skinny dog around the school looking for food. When it was time to leave, I watched as the truck in front of my ran over this dog WITHOUT EVEN KNOWING. It was pretty traumatic, even for a non dog-lover. I screamed as I saw it, and what was worse was after the front tires had got the dog, he tried to limp away but couldn’t in time and the back tires went over him as well. The dirt roads are so bad and full of potholes, that it really is possible to run over a dog and not know it, which is what happened here. The poor thing was yelping in pain. Nearly all the dogs around here have mange, sores, parts of their body hanging off, or are limping. It was a horrible thing to see, and I can’t get it out of my mind.

Second, the weather in American Samoa is pretty constant. For example, the weather forecast for the next 6-10 days has lows of 76-77 degrees, and highs of 84-85 degrees. Remember that with the 80% humidity, those high temperatures feel more like they are in the high 90’s. Each day there is a 60% chance of rain. It’s the same, day in, day out.

The low temperatures are normally only during the night. For example, at 7am this morning as we were leaving for school, it was already 81 degrees. When it’s time to cook dinner, that’s when the temperature is so high that you feel you are going to die. At least I do. Add on top of that turning on an appliance on cooking over a gas hob, and you have a perfect storm. In a kitchen with no AC and a wall fan that just blows the hot air from the oven right in my face, cooking dinner is horrible. It’s impossible not to get mean, or at least, I haven’t figured out how to do it yet. I banish all the kids from out of the kitchen and get things done as fast as I can.

I’ve been thinking about Thanksgiving this week, and dreading turning on that oven to make turkey and rolls, so yesterday when we experienced the coolest day since we’ve been here, I decided to jump on that and I made my rolls in less than an 80 degree temperature, and I put them in the freezer ready for Thursday. Yes! What a relief. Yes, I’ll still have to cook the really expensive turkey that I found, but at least I won’t need to be in the kitchen all morning like I would have if I was making rolls. I can just put the turkey in and go and sit in front of a fan in another room. That was a huge blessing to me this week that I could get that done without the stress that comes with cooking in American Samoan heat. I guess I’m just really grateful for one cool day in the middle of summer so that I could make my rolls.

Responses

  1. That would be an awful thing to witness. I hope you can get the image out of your mind soon. That’s great that you were able to make your rolls!

  2. Simple answer – don’t make rolls! Either buy or do without.

  3. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  4. Love your blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

