Posted by: monsonmadness | December 8, 2011

Gingerbread fale

I thought it would be a great idea to make a gingerbread fale instead of a gingerbread house this year. (See Samoan fale below)

Very authentic I thought. Not so. Couldn’t make gingerbread, so settled for graham crackers. There’s only one store that had graham crackers and they were a week out of date. I bought them anyway, but everything here is soft so they couldn’t hold much weight! I had visions of beautiful fales with liquorice wrapped around the posts of the fale like the beautiful grasses and leaves that they have here, but it didn’t exactly turn out that way. Check out the photo of the kids faces as I was trying to get a picture of them with the fale, but just when the flash went off, the fale collapsed! We delivered one to a friend and had to explain that it was a post-tsumani fale and that it would still taste ok. At least the kids had fun!

Responses

  1. I love the M&M flowers!!

  2. I Love It! you are so funny–“post tsunami” fale..

  3. I’ve never been any good at making gingerbread houses/fales. They always end up “post tsunami” too.

  4. I think I need to do gingerbread houses with my kids.


Leave a Reply

Categories

