Posted by: monsonmadness | February 18, 2012

I am like a fire

A couple of weeks ago we had a get-to-know-you activity with all the women in our church. It was a fun morning of being inspired to make New Years Resolutions as well as tips on exercising and healthy eating.

To start this activity, all the women were handed two pipe cleaners and asked to design something that described themselves. Creations varied from a needle and thread to a diaper and pacifier, a butterfly to a pair of scissors, and a heart to a flower.

I guess I was too introspective because most people just did something that they were interested in, I was describing myself instead. I created a burning fire (can’t you tell?)

I have felt recently like my life is burning out of control and that people need to stand their distance if they don’t want to get burned. You have to be very careful around fire you know!!!!

Seriously though, I feel that I have had wonderful opportunities lately to be an example of a fire in other people’s lives. Fire is essential for heat and light. Fire is a symbol of security and warmth, and I feel that I have been placed in positions where I need to be an example of light and warmth to those I come in contact with. I am an essential part of my family. They need me to provide their basic needs as well as giving them the light of my testimony. I need to nurture and secure my own family, and then I have my children at school who I need to lead and teach, as well as all the wonderful children in the Primary at church who I can be a shining light to as well. It’s a big responsibility and I need to make sure that my flames are inviting and welcoming, and not scary in any way! No comments on the fiery red hair ok?

I taught myself an important lesson that day with the pipe cleaners and I’ve made sure that I’ve been reflecting regularly on whether my flames each day are burning and hurting others, or whether they are providing warmth, comfort and security.

Deep post huh?

Responses

  1. I think that’s a great analogy. Great perspective.

  2. thanks.very good blog and very good share.


Leave a Reply

Categories

