Posted by: monsonmadness | March 1, 2012

Hair loss

Check out this photo of our sweet three year old daughter Mary. It was taken in Utah 9 months ago.

Our kids have never had tons of hair, but we weren’t expecting what would happen when we moved here. For some strange reason, Mary has slowly been losing her hair, and now it looks like this:

I’ve been researching Alopecia lot on the internet, and none of the causes seem to fit.

She doesn’t have ringworm, there is no cosmetic over processing, we don’t style or dry her hair at all, she doesn’t pull any hair out herself. The hair loss is all around the sides (on both sides) and the back.

Her diet is the same as her siblings, and not drastically different from when we lived in the States. She takes a multi vitamin every day.

I read about telogen effluvium, but it seems so strange. I know waiting a few months to see if the follicles are in hibernation might be worth trying, but we’ve been waiting now for several months already and it seems to be getting worse.

I contacted my pediatrician in Utah who has recommended some blood work here. He said it could be thyroid related. I got in touch with someone at the hospital and they thought a fungal infection from the climate or from contact with dogs was more likely. Mary has had NO contact with dogs. I’m sure this is the start of a long process of hours in gross, hot waiting rooms with cranky children, lots of guesses, and a lot of patience on my part. Oh good. I seem to be developing quite a lot of that lately. Shame I can’t get rid of my sarcasm at the same rate.

Responses

  1. That is sad. I hope you can get some answers. How frustrating to have to deal with all the doctors and hospital down there. Good luck!!

  2. Don’t underestimate the healing power of sarcasm. In moderation, of course.

  3. I hope everything is okay.

  4. I hope you can soon get the answers you need.

  5. Did you find the cause of your daughters hairless? I have a friend who’s daughter is losing her hair.


Leave a Reply

Categories

