Posted by: monsonmadness | March 4, 2012

My new 88 year old friend

I have a new friend and she’s amazing. She is known on this island as “Grandma Peters”, and she truly acts like a Grandma to everyone. She is a wonderful lady and I am so fortunate that I am getting to know her better.

In our church, we have a program called Visiting Teaching. (Click on this link to learn more.) Basically, each woman in our church has the privilege of befriending and caring for several other women. Every month with another woman in our church, we visit them, pray for them, serve them, teach them, and try to inspire them.

Grandma Peters is my new visiting teacher, and so once a month she comes to visit me. She is 88 years old and moves around very slowly with the help of a walker. I feel bad that she has to go up a step to get into my house, and another to get to the living room, so we normally just sit at the dining room table for our visits. She is so kind and concerned about me, and always offers her help. She acknowledges that she can’t do much for me, that she wishes she could help me with the children or the house, but in her frail state, she offers with great faith to pray for me, that I may be able to juggle all that is expected of me and that I can bear my burdens well. I love her for this.

In our Relief Society newsletter last month, they spotlighted Grandma Peters, and this is what they said:

“This Sister has lived in Fiji, Samoa, American Samoa, and Hawaii. She taught Home Economics at Samoana and Mapusaga High Schools. She has been a member of the church since 1952. She and her family have been sealed in the New Zealand temple. She has been a member of the Mesapa International Ward for more than 20 years. She has served 7 missions for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.”

Isn’t that amazing? I really feel so blessed to get to know her more and learn from her example.

I have had so many blessings in my life from being a visiting teacher as well. Right now, my companion visiting teacher is a new convert from Western Samoa. We visit another recent convert from Korea. They both have lots of questions, and it’s exciting to teach and visit together every month. For example, in February we had a great discussion about the important role that women play in the family. Whether you are a wife, a mother, a sister, a daughter, or part of your church family, women have a vital role to play. Women are by their natures more compassionate, more patient, and kind, and as we reach out in love to those within our sphere of influence, we can bless many lives. I was really touched by what my Samoan and Korean friends shared with me last month, and it was nice to draw closer to other women as we shared our experiences together. It was an extra bonus that my Samoan friend had baked some cinnamon rolls for us to eat! What can be better than that?

Making friends through service builds lasting friendships. I love it.

Responses

  1. I loved this post Helen. Thank you for sharing! I know these women are blessed because once upon a time in Utah I had a fabulous visiting teacher ;)!


Leave a Reply

Categories

