Posted by: monsonmadness | March 25, 2012

Hoarding

When food that you like comes to this island, you have to stock up. It’s just what you do, because when it’s gone, it’s gone, and you probably won’t be able to find it again for three or four months until a new shipment comes in.

This is what happened to me with my diet soda just before Christmas. I have a “small addiction” to soda, but I only drink diet because I don’t want the calories. The only diet soda that they sell here is diet Coke, which I don’t drink.

Very rarely, they have diet 7up or diet orange soda, and then I am over the moon. There are only two stores on this island that sell these two drinks, so at Christmas time when they were both out, I was disappointed. By January, I was frustrated. By February, I was annoyed, and by March, I had given up hope. In fact, of all the things that I could have asked my friend Addie to bring for me from Utah when she came, I asked her to bring me some diet, caffeine free Coke (and it was DELICIOUS). Pretty pathetic huh?

It get’s worse…whenever I’m in one of the two stores that sells the diet soda, I make sure I walk down that aisle before I check out. I did this as usual last week, and no diet soda. Sigh.

As I was standing in line to pay, I looked over to where they have a refrigerator of cold drinks and there was the diet orange soda. Yippee! I told the cashier to hold my order and ran over and pulled every single can out of there and bought them all. All 28 cans. I was being stared at by this point but I didn’t care.

Here’s the ironic part, the next day I was at the other store and they had the diet 7up in! (Guess they all came in on the same boat). I bought 32 cans. Wahoooo!!!!

Now to go home and start rationing…

Responses

  1. You are hilarious! Congratulations on the good luck – you are now stocked for a little while and can rest at ease. Rather than hoarding, maybe let’s just call it emergency preparedness or building your food storage 🙂

  2. I am feeling happy that you found something as I am drinking my caffeine free Diet Coke right now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

