Posted by: monsonmadness | March 29, 2012

Running away

The other day my 6 year old daughter Hannah came home from school with a very interesting school assignment. It had to do with some book that they were reading in class, and each of the children were assigned to write a list of what they would take with them if they were going to run away from home. (Not sure I like them thinking and planning for this, but oh well)

Check out the spelling and the cute things in her list. In case you can’t read it very well, she’s obviously got all of the essentials like clothing (scerts, t-shert, jewry, hear stuff) She’s also got things to do if she gets bored, (paper dolls, coloring books, crayons, markers and paint) and she hasn’t forgotten that she might get hungry, so she’d pack some lolly pops, soada, chocolot milk, and my favorite entry of all, “5 or more trays of Buns”. (with a capital B mind you) I can’t get over that! It’s so incredibly random. 5 or more trays of buns????? What is going through this child’s mind?

Oh yes, this stunner looks innocent enough, and when she looks at you with those big blue eyes, she can get away with almost anything. Except for taking 5 of more trays of buns from my house of course…

Responses

  1. Ummm…I don’t think I’d want my kids thinking about and planning for running away from home!! That list is cute though. I hope she would remember to take some crisps with those buns!! She is beautiful. I don’t remember her hair being that red!

  2. Reminds me of our Charlotte about the same age – we were discussing what to put in our emergency packs. Her idea was make-up!! 🙂

  3. If she brings enough Buns she can run away to my house.

  4. Was the book by chance, “From The Mixed Up Files of Mrs Basil E Frankweiler” ? I love that book and made all of my kids read it with me in the 2nd or 3rd grade. Then, when my youngest was 6, we went to New York City and visited The Metropolitan Museum of Art (where the kids in the book had run away to). It was so fun!

    • It was called “My Father’s Dragon”. I haven’t read it, but probably should!!!

  5. Ha ha! I love it!

  6. I LOVE that picture of Hannah! She is beautiful and growing up fast.


Leave a Reply

Categories

