Posted by: monsonmadness | April 27, 2012

Run, run, as fast as you can

This is what my kindergarten class was shouting at the top of their lungs today. Each week in class we read and study a different book. We have spelling and sight words to learn from the book, we illustrate our own version, and on “Fun Fridays” we do a craft related to the book.

This week for recess, we made up a game where the fox has to chase all the gingerbread men and catch them. When all the gingerbread men have been caught and eaten, we choose a new fox. Kindergarten kids are so easy to entertain!

This book was so easy for them that they each had it memorized quickly, and by the time I read it to them this afternoon, we were all just doing it in unison. It was so much fun.

In lieu of a paper craft this week, I decided we should do the real thing and decorate our own gingerbread men. The plan was easier to come up with than actually executing it. I could not find all of the ingredients that I needed to make the gingerbread men so had to make some substitutions. It is so hot here that cookie dough just melts flat, so I knew I had to work quickly. I had put the gingerbread dough into the fridge to harden and knew I had to roll it out fast! With no gingerbread man cookie cutter, and refusing to cut them all by hand, I quickly decided we would have to do gingerbread faces instead. You just have to learn to make adjustments down here. You can never set your heart on anything!

Mission accomplished, we had a great activity. We wore our fox ears so that we could eat up the gingerbread men with a “snip, snap, crunch” just like in the book, and then the kids all yelled out, “Gingerbread men are made to be eaten!”

The best part is that the kids had all brought candy donations to decorate, and there were a few leftovers. The kids each took the extra cookies home, but it was much too complicated to try and divvy up the remaining candy so I did the only honorable thing I could to avoid conflict, and brought the leftover candy home myself. Shhhh….don’t tell the parents 😉

Responses

  1. Great, Helen. Thanks. Now I have to make cookies. Don’t do posts on yummy looking food when I’m 7 months pregnant. That’s cruel. lol

  2. Sounds like a lot of fun. Good for you taking one for the team and taking home the extra candy! 😉

  3. Very cute idea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

