Posted by: monsonmadness | April 30, 2012

Ode to the hiking boot

Oh beautiful hiking boot,

Why did you have to die?

We have been friends for so long.

‘Twas the fall of ’96

You were on sale in New Hampshire for $7

I fell in love with you, and decided to take you with me around the world.

We toured the fall colors and the waterfalls of New England.

You visited the Nation’s capital. You’ve been to Mount Rushmore, the Grand Canyon, and Niagara Falls.

You came with me to Alaska, and hiked to see the totem poles.

You climbed to the top of a volcano with me in Hawaii.

You’ve been to all 50 states and hiked in hundreds of National and State Parks.

You’ve hiked in Scotland, Ireland, England, Wales, France, Belgium, Spain, Portugal, Mexico and Canada.

And then, on a muddy trail on Mount Alava in American Samoa, you lost your sole (or should I say soul?)

I didn’t want to leave you there, but it was hard to carry your muddy flap along with me.

The others wouldn’t wait. I had to make a decision.

I promised to come back for you, and left you there among the leafy palms.

On the way back you were nowhere to be found.

I thought of you with each hobbled step along the trail.

Thank you hiking boot, you were a faithful and true friend.

You will be missed. Thank you for the memories.

Responses

  1. Helen, I love your story! I was once hiking in the pinnacles and this happened to a man and he luckily ran into some hikers that had some duct tape! Well sorry that you lost an old friend-but the hiking memories live on!

  2. Poor hiking boot. It has seen so much with you!

  3. Oh Helen, I loved your ode! Such memories – I have never thought of my hiking boots in those terms! Great photos too. Two weeks tomorrow and I will be off on another adventure with your mum. Burgundy this time.

  4. those are some great pictures. that’s probably the furthest $7 has ever gone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

