Posted by: monsonmadness | May 18, 2012

Happy Birthday to me!

Wow! I am one lucky girl. Whoever invented birthdays was inspired. Birthdays are great for helping you to feel loved.

Wanna hear all of the awesome things that happened for my birthday? I know you do, and I had a lot of pressure too. My facebook friends expect a lot out of me. I think they were waiting to hear some crazy adventure or something out of the ordinary that I did today and I’m afraid I’m going to disappoint. I didn’t get a roasted pig for my birthday dinner. I didn’t do anything with monkeys or sharks or any other creatures. I didn’t even get to go to the beach, but to me, it was a great day and here’s why…

* I had a surprise Skpye session with a bunch of my Utah friends. I thought I was only skyping one of them, and then when the video came on, my friends had all gathered in secret and started singing happy birthday to me. I held it together well while I was on show with them, but choked up when I was telling Michael about it. I was very touched that they would all get together thousands of miles away and do that for me. I felt so very loved.

* I got new hiking boots! Yippee, let the adventures begin.

* Michael took me out for a birthday date. He booked a massage for me at the fancy pants Tradewinds hotel, and then we had a delicious dinner together. Awesome. We came home and put the kids to bed, and then a couple of friends “appeared” to play games with me. Hooray. What a great night, and I have to say, I rule the world at Bananagrams. I dare you to challenge me…

* My inlaw’s birthday package was great and instead of being stuffed with packing peanuts was stuffed with laffy taffy. AWESOME.

* I got tons and tons of facebook messages wishing me a happy birthday. Birthdays are the best for feeling the facebook love! Thanks for thinking of me and making me giggle.

* We didn’t have kindergarten today because our school is having a musical show tonight so today is the dress rehearsal. My cute little kindergarten kids made cards for me and gave them to Daniel in secret yesterday so that he could give them to me on my birthday.

* Instead of teaching today I got to help with the dress rehearsal for the show. I shuttled kids back and forth from the school, and then I helped make the stage props, design and hang decorations, and sew two skirts. I felt pretty important! Can’t wait for the show tonight. I’m just going to pretend it’s a special birthday show, just for me! I’ll write about it in a separate post.

* A group of my Utah friends got together and mailed me a TON of cards and presents. I was overwhelmed. It was so thoughtful of them. I am the luckiest girl out there…

* My kids sang Happy Birthday to me in Samoan as we had birthday cake tonight. That’s a great memory…

* Some of the favorite things that I got were French crisps, British crisps, American chips, candy, candy, candy, and more candy, my hiking boots, and some new tops that I don’t have to wear a tank underneath! I was so sick of my handful of clothes that I brought out here, but most things are sleeveless or two low cut, so finding some nice modest tops was priceless! Hooray, for only having to wear one layer! I am over the moon about that.

* My parents sent me some money to go towards an adventure in New Zealand…I am so excited…boat ride to swim with dolphins, luge and gondola, ride in a zorb….there are so many choices!

Here I am with all my loot!

Oh, and since I had a friend dare me to do something different on my birthday, I felt like I had to come up with something, so at the ripe old age of 35, I climbed my first coconut tree! I wanted to do it like the locals, barefoot and wearing a lava lava, but Michael reminded me that it wouldn’t be as cool having a birthday “first” if that first was spending the night at LBJ hospital getting a broken leg cast, and then hobbling around New Zealand in a couple of weeks, SO I donned my brand new hiking boots, tried on my $2 jeans that I just found at a yard sale for NZ and I climbed! It was tricky, but I made it all the way up to the coconuts. The pictures are not very flattering. Sorry.

I tell you what…it was WEIRD wearing jeans. It’s been a year since I’ve worn pants (trousers). So there you go…half way to 70 years old, and I was able to make it up a coconut tree, sweaty legs and all! Now I’m sure to remember this birthday! Thank you so much to all of you who made my day so special. I am really grateful for wonderful people in my life.

Responses

  1. Happy Birthday Helen!

  2. I would say climbing a coconut tree is deserving of a Klondike bar! Glad you had such a great day.

  3. Half way to 70! Helen, you make me laugh. I’m so glad you had a great day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

