Posted by: monsonmadness | July 10, 2012

Is your cup half empty or half full?

I feel like my cup is often half empty, and thanks to my kids who have half full cups, I am able to change my mind set and appreciate things more.

Take the park for example.

As you know, there are only 3 parks on this island, and one doesn’t really count because it’s 45 minutes away and all the villagers stare if you use it. It might be private property, but no-one has ever said anything to us, only stared.

Anyway, the other two are not exactly in tip-top condition. It would be a major understatement (albeit a huge generaliziont) to say that Samoans don’t really take care of things well. If you saw one of these parks in the States or in the UK (where they have the best playgrounds in the world), you would drive past quickly thinking you were in the ghetto. Broken glass and garbage litter the ground, paint peels off the wooden structures, and swings creak with rusty, half open bolts. Missing wooden planks lead to dangerous drop off for small children, and cracked plastic slides could lead to painful injuries.

BUT…since there is nothing else to do on this island other than go to the beach, my kids scream with glee when I tell them we can go to the park. It is the highlight of their week.

We went to the “library park” when my Mom was here, and as usual, the kids had the best time. I am so grateful for their innocence. I wish I could be a child again. I need to learn to appreciate the small things, and to view life with a half full mentality. Enjoy the photos.

Responses

  1. Your kids are awesome! And cute!!! I learn a lot from my kids about appreciating the little things in life too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

