Posted by: monsonmadness | July 22, 2012

“No fighting”

This is a common phrase in our home. It shouldn’t be, but it is. With so many small kids and so many strong personalities, there is often contention of some sort.

Our children hear a lot of “war stories” as we teach them about various battles and wars from the scriptures. They know about swords and cimeters and breastplates and shields, and they like to act these things out. As parents we try to remind them that fighting is not for fun, and that they shouldn’t delight in bloodshed, but that fighting for our rights is good when we are protecting our freedom and our families from evil.

One of the ways I have tried to minimize the fighting is to not allow toy weapons in our home. Yes, I have received a lot of flack for that from other parents and from my own kids, but I don’t really see the benefit of children “pretending” to kill and shoot each other. Even though we don’t have those toys, it is inevitable that they will be created somehow, it’s just how kids minds work, again I am just trying to minimize this, I know I can’t control them!

It is quite common for me to walk into a room and see my boys blasting their stuffed toys with a lego gun, or see them sword fighting with empty toilet paper rolls. Even my girls seem to enjoy the action sometimes.

The other day I was reading a book with 3 year old Mary. We came to a page with Peter Pan and Captain Hook and Mary said,

“Look Mom, they’re fighting”

“Who do you think will win?” I asked her.

She didn’t answer that question. Instead, she stared out of the window and said wistfully, “I wish I had a sword.”

“Why Mary?” I asked.

“So that I could fight……oh, I mean, so that I could defeat the wicked Lamanites and protect my family and my freedom.”

That’a girl. Way to liken the scriptures to yourself even though you seem to have age inappropriate bloodthirsty desires!!!!!!

Responses

  1. You’re a great mother and teacher!:)

  2. Ha ha!! She says the funniest things!

  3. Mary is so cute!


Leave a Reply

Categories

