Posted by: monsonmadness | July 24, 2012

Pros and Cons

I’ve received a few comments about our new house that I feel I should clarify. The decision to move here was really hard, but the bottom line was I was going to be homeschooling, and I didn’t want to do it in a furnace where everyone was grumpy. That’s pretty much it.

I think some of you were expecting that all of our “problems” would be solved with the move, but we moved to another village, not another country. We still live in American Samoa and get to “enjoy” and learn from the things that are just part of every day life here. Here is a summary of the pros and cons of this new house. I’ll start and end positively!

Pro: It has nice high ceilings and makes the rooms seem much bigger.

Con: Some rooms don’t have windows and the lighting is very poor. We still need to figure out what we can do to improve lighting in several areas.

Pro: The floor plan is open, and with two screen doors, we have a fantastic breeze that blows through the house, cooling everything down. Even though we use our fans constantly, we haven’t had to turn on the AC units yet (it is winter mind you)

Con: We don’t have blinds on all the windows yet, I get nervous that people can look in, it is not the safest area to live in. It’s also hard for Mary to nap in a light room.

Pro: The house was recently painted so everything looks nice and new.

Con: The shower in the kid’s room fluctuates from boiling to cold water in an instant. The kids hate it. They scream. It’s a horrible experience getting them clean every day. I am also still petrified of the dryer!

Pro: The bedrooms are huge.

Con: We have some leaky faucets and the toilets aren’t always great. They get clogged easily. Last night I got up to use the toilet and when I flushed, it just kept running. Michael was trying to fix it when Hannah ran in needing to use it because she didn’t want to use the kid’s toilet as she’d just seen a huge cockroach in there!

Pro: We don’t have as many ants here (that’s a BIG pro)

Con: We still have geckos and termites, and in this house we have several lizards too. They catch me off guard, especially the black ones. Michael was able to catch one last night and throw it out of the window, but they’re pretty fast.

Pro: The kitchen is awesome. It is 300% better than at the last house.

Con: Having said that, we still have stinky cupboards like in the old house and it makes you gag when you open them. Don’t think there’s anything you can do about that. I tried sticking an air freshener in them, but it didn’t do anything. Can’t do baking soda because of the ants….

Pro: The yard is great. We can close the gate and know that the kids are safe. No dogs to chase them or scare them.

Con: Having said that, we have several dogs at the house across the street who bark all night long and keep me awake. Not so great.

Pro: We are higher up on the mountain and have a beautiful view each morning when we wake up and look out of the front door. It’s hard to see the ocean, but the sky is always a beautiful color and the green mountain to the side of us is breathtaking. We are very fortunate to live in such a beautiful place.

Con: We are closer to the main road now and so we hear sirens every night. Just when you finally fall asleep from the dogs, the sirens will start. I’m not kidding, it’s got to be at least 3 times a night…

Pro: We have more privacy here. No-one else comes onto the property. No-one talking outside our bedroom windows every evening. No children coming and pressing their noses up against our windows and staring in…so far.

Con: The house is more compact which makes nap time REALLY hard. It’s hard for the 4 older ones to be quiet enough for the two girls to fall asleep every afternoon, there isn’t anywhere else for them to go. Mary has a hard time sleeping anyway because her room isn’t dark. We’ve had some cranky little girls lately. I’m sure our neighbors have realized this because it seems I’m bringing screaming toddlers back in the house from outside almost every day.

Pro: Overall, it’s simply much better than the old house.

Con: Our rent here is a lot more than before.

Pro: We haven’t found a dead dog on the property yet.

Responses

  1. I’m glad things are better for you Helen! I sympathize with all of your challenges! What a great growing experience for your family though. I’m sure when you get back to the States, you will savor everything that we all here take for granted!!! I really enjoy reading your blog. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. What experiences! Wowsers… I can’t believe the ants go after baking soda…. I wonder if dried vanilla beans would work? Or dryer sheets? Glad you haven’t had a dead dog on the property–and I hope you don’t ever again!!!!

  3. It sounds like “LIFE”, which usually has lots of pros and cons. I’m very sympathetic about the night noises (I too am a light sleeper. When we came to Hungary, and had a huge glass window above our apartment door, and a glass door to our bedroom; I had to start sleeping with a sleep-mask or wake up every time anyone in the apartment complex turned on the light in the stair well. Have you tried foil on the windows? I also sleep with ear plugs.) When I read your post, I had a flash-back of when I lived in AS as a child, and us pulling the tails off the lizards. Doesn’t sound very nice, does it? And I’m glad about no dead dogs yet. 🙂

  4. I’m glad you are happy with your decision to move. Hopefully you get some blinds soon for Mary!


Leave a Reply

Categories

