Posted by: monsonmadness | July 25, 2012

Special needs kids are hilarious (I’m a parent of one, I’m allowed to say that)

And by this title I mean that they are in many ways like innocent little children and have no qualms about saying it like it is!

We adults understand social rules and what we should and shouldn’t say to people, but little children don’t understand these rules.

I have been spending a bit of time with a 10 year old Samoan special needs girl lately. She came to our house for family home evening on Monday and was really cute. Of all the kids, she likes to play with 3 year old Mary the most. I think that she is closer to the same level with her.

A couple of days before that, I was sitting with her during a church meeting. It was an adult meeting, so I’m not sure why she was there, but she and I sat together, and she really wanted my affection. She was playing with my hair, holding my hand, putting her arm around me, laying across my lap etc. Like many other Samoans who have never seen freckles before, she likes to touch them to see what they feel like! I’m quite used to being fondled by strangers now. They’re just curious!

I was really trying to pay attention to the meeting because Elder O. Vincent Haleck of the Quorum of the Seventy and his wife were speaking, and I was really interested in what they were saying. Sister Haleck gave a great talk on reverence that made me reflect a lot on some improvements that I needed to make in my own life. She reminded us that reverence invites revelation and we all need personal inspiration to guide and direct us in our lives. She also suggested that instead of saying “I’m going to church”, we should substitute it with “I’m going to worship”, and then have the same attitude. I think this will really help both me and my kids…

As she continued to teach us about the importance of reverence, my young friend decided that she wanted to chat. She had been holding my hand, turning it over and over, looking at her much larger hand and then my smaller one repetitively. She turned to me and said loudly, “You’re white”.

“Yes” I whispered as I leaned closer to her, “and you’re brown.”

I was hoping that this would end the conversation and that I could go back to listening for a few more minutes. I could feel her staring at me and I knew something else was coming, I just didn’t know what it was going to be. She then shouted out in her best English for the whole congregation to hear, “Why don’t you ever do your hair nice?”

It caught me so off guard that I laughed out loud for a second and forgot that we were sitting on the fourth row in front of a general authority. Neither of us were being our most reverent selves and so I bowed my head to cover my giggles and so I didn’t have to make eye contact with the speaker or with Michael who was sitting up on the stand conducting the meeting.

I never even gave her an answer. Poor girl. She asked a legitimate question after all.

I blame the humidity.

Responses

  1. bwa ha ha!

  2. Hilarious!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

