Posted by: monsonmadness | August 16, 2012

New Baby Announcement

On the day that we got back from Fiji, Michael and I got to share the exciting news with our children that another baby would be coming to our family.

It is quite normal in our family to have kids do things in age order, so we decided to line the kids up oldest to youngest to give them their presents from Fiji. Nanna was with us, and she was the oldest, so she got the first present. Then it was Matthew’s turn, and each time I moved on to the next kid I would say, “Who’s the next oldest?” and the kids would all chant out the answer in unison. We moved to Benjamin, Hannah, Daniel, Mary and Emma, each time asking “Who’s the next oldest?” When everyone had a present in their hands, I asked, “Who’s the next oldest?” and they all stared at me in silence. They said, “No-one”, so I repeated, “Who’s the next oldest? I have another present here…”

I pulled out this onesie that I bought in Fiji that says “Little Turtle” on it. They were still really confused so I told them that this present was for the next youngest child. Still stumped, I whispered to them our new secret, “Mommy has a baby in her tummy!”

They couldn’t believe it, but when it sank in they were really excited. It was fun. Here is a video clip of the announcement below. Baby Monson #7 is due to arrive in February.

Responses

  1. Congratuations! Ruth keeps asking to watch the video again, she reliably informs me that you’re having a boy. x

  2. Congratulations to you all! xx

  3. Congratulations all of you! What exciting news. I love the way you told them all! Miriam is good at keeping secrets!

  4. How wonderful! Congratulations! What a sweet video and sweet children! Their reaction was so precious!!

  5. No wonder you haven’t been feeling well….Congratulations!!!!!

  6. Congrats! Now we can try to figure out how to roll with seven kids together! I am so happy for you!

  7. Congratulations! Always the adventurer!

  8. Oh my gosh! Congratulations Helen! How wonderful :0)

  9. Wow !! Congratulations!! Helen, you are so amazing. I wish I had your energy! Really, I do want to know, how do you do it? What kind of systems do you have in place in your home that keep you organized?? I’m for real. Will u do a blog post about it, or email or something? I need some good ideas. I get overwhelmed very easily and I only have 3!!

  10. I loved that video!!! Those are some very cute kids you have! So excited for you!!

  11. Congrats Helen! Hopefully you will survive that heat okay. I can’t imagine how tired it must make you. I’m exhausted and it isn’t near as hot here.

  12. Wow! We just got back in town….so excited for you!!!:) Congrats from us!

  13. Yea for you!!! I’m excited for you, and pass our congratulations! What a cute way to tell the kids. It was fun to see their reaction. =)

  14. I missed your post about the baby announcement, but quickly checked back to see why you had one on prenatal care. Wow, Congratulations! You are great parents and I’m in awe that you’re so organized and on top of everything!! Praying for your health and blessings to you and your family! I love reading about your adventures, too. 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

