Posted by: monsonmadness | December 31, 2012

Food choices

Running out of time with this blog. I have several drafts that I never posted that may be interesting to you.

This one is about the “interesting” food choices that we have on the island. We’ve tried most things, but we are a bunch of picky eaters, so I’m not sure there will be anything we will miss terribly when we leave, except for the coconut rolls and the delicious fresh pineapples and mangoes.

We’ve learned that there are 101 ways to eat bananas, and that taro although bland by itself, is much better when it’s made into taro bread and dyed purple!

My Mum learned that you don’t buy what they sell wrapped in tin foil at the side of the road. They will try and convince you that it is turkey tail, but it will still look and smell like wrapped up vomit (sorry Samoan friends, no offense intended!)

They sell so much seafood here; check out my kids faces when I suggested octopus for dinner!

And of course, although there’s only one store on the island where I would dare to buy meat, all of the others seem to have all the other parts of the animals readily accessible. It is really easy to find pig noses, feet, tails, turkey tails, livers, hearts, you name it! I was shocked to find this head of pig being sold as a luxury item over the holidays! No thanks!

My kids and I are already starting to write lists of what food we want to eat first when we go back to the states. I have Indian at the top of my list of course, but I also got a Chili’s gift certificate for Christmas, so that’s something to look forward to as well. It’s all what you’re used to…

Responses

  1. Happy New Year! nice pictures. I can see that the kids are thrilled with the food. LOL!!

  2. My kids are a bunch of picky eaters too. But I know they would love the fresh pineapple. Sounds delicious! Jeff also loves Indian food. I’m not as big of fan as he is so we usually only go out for Indian food on his birthday. Those this last time we tried different dishes and I found some new favorites of mine. So now I think Jeff will be able to go out for indian food more than once a year. 🙂

  3. The coconut rolls sound yummy! I think I’ll pass on octopus!


Leave a Reply

Categories

