Posted by: monsonmadness | February 2, 2013

Sealing day at Temple Square

January 29th is the anniversary of our sealing day. I did a blog post about it last year with photos from each year since 2004. You can click here to see that post.

This year on January 29th, we were snowed in and the roads were treacherous. (No, of course that’s not going to happen when I go into labor, think positive people!) Because of the weather, we had to postpone our trip to the temple until today.

It was a beautiful (although very cold) day in Salt Lake City. There was still snow on the ground, but the skies were blue and it was our first real trip outdoors as a family. We took photos and went around the two visitor centers on temple square. We were hoping we would bump into Sisters Savelio or Muli who are both missionaries serving from our ward in American Samoa, but there was no sign of them 😦

I had to include the photo of the two little girls in the bathroom. They were amazed at the hand dryer! They thought it was the coolest thing ever! They also loved riding on the escalator (or calculator as Emma called it). The kids loved learning more about their favorite scripture stories, about the welfare program of the Church, and seeing the scriptures in hundreds of different languages. Of course they wanted to find a Samoan Book of Mormon, and were happy when they found it.

Mary sat good as gold when we were sitting in the room with the Christus statue. It was quiet and people were meditating.  As I wrote this post, she came over to the computer and said, “Mom, when we were in that room, I felt the spirit. I don’t feel it now, but I felt it when we were in that room.” I explained that Heavenly Father was showing her how much he loved her, and how proud he was of her for being reverent. She just turned 4, and this was her first mention of feeling the spirit. I’m so happy that she was able to recognize those special feelings for what they truly are.

I know that we can receive revelation, comfort, and guidance from the Holy Ghost. I know that our Heavenly Father loves us individually and is aware of our needs and concerns. We are His children, and he cares about our well-being and the choices that we make. I know that temples are sacred places, and that making covenants with God there helps us prepare to meet Him again. I know that because of the covenants made by the power of the Priesthood in temples, we can be sealed to our family members for time and all eternity. We can live with our loved ones again after this life. I feel so blessed to have this knowledge in my life. Families are forever!

Responses

  1. What a fun day!

  2. I LOVE this post! What a neat thing for Mary to recognize those feelings. Something I hope each of my kids learn early on in life.


Leave a Reply

Categories

