Posted by: monsonmadness | April 11, 2013

Experienced mother – NOT!

Randoms from the last few days…

* You would think that by now, I would be quite an experienced mother. Apparently not. Ever since Grace was born and I’ve tried putting her in the sling, it hasn’t felt right. I’ve rationalized that it’s not my sling (it’s borrowed from a friend) and therefore it just doesn’t fit me properly. I still used it on our hikes in Vernal, but I felt like I always had to support her head with my arm or a hand. Thanks to a brave friend pointing out the (apparently obvious to everyone else) truth, it appears I have been putting Grace in the sling upside down these last few weeks! Awesome. We went to the park after school today to feed the ducks, and I put her in “right side up” and oh what a difference it made! They really work when you use them like you’re supposed to!

* Saw some beautiful cranes out of our window this morning. They were gorgeous, have never seen any around here before and enjoyed watching them for a while.

* My Mum and I were fortunate enough to go to General Conference in person. General Conference is a meeting that we have in the LDS church twice a year where the Prophet and Apostles speak to members all over the world giving counsel, guidance, encouragement, and warning. The conference center is amazing. It is 1.4 million square feet in size, seats over 21,000 people (all who have an unobstructed view of the pulpit), with an auditorium large enough to hold two Boeing 747’s side by side! Underground is a parking garage that can hold 1,400 cars. Of course it has the 7,667-pipe organ and room on the stand for 158 general authorities and the 360-voice Mormon Tabernacle Choir. Listening to the choir singing in the same “room” was amazing, and so was hearing the inspiring words of a living Prophet. My favorite talk was “Lord, I Believe” by Elder Jeffrey R. Holland. (Click on link for 1 minute highlight of his talk)

* We still enjoy using the Ipad photo booth app. You can make people look really funny. My Mum dared me to put up the one of me on this blog and didn’t think I would, so I had to prove her wrong. I’ve got nothing to be ashamed of!

* Hannah had her cast put on today. Good news is that we were able to get a waterproof one. Bad news is that they don’t come in white, so Hannah is sporting a bright purple one.

* I bought some chocolate tortillas and made strawberry, Nutella, and cheesecake rolls with cream on the top. It took me three times to get them just right, but we enjoyed experimenting. Also enjoyed playing with the whipped cream too as you can see!

Responses

  1. those are some pretty funny photo booth pics. you’re totally the most experienced mother i know. glad you got to go to conference. and chocolate tortillas with nutella sound magic. can’t wait!


Leave a Reply

Categories

