Posted by: monsonmadness | May 13, 2013

Life is overwhelming sometimes

Haven’t blogged for a while, life has been a little overwhelming for me the last few weeks. Too much going on, and I remember that I only wanted to write positive things. Well, it’s been hard, but I’ve tried to make the most of it. Definitely lots of learning opportunities.  Here are some of them in a matter-of-fact, NOT a complaining tone!

* Had to learn how to be a single parent. Micheal’s job is pretty much the opposite as American Samoa. He leaves at 7am, comes home at 7pm, spends an hour with the kids and then is back on his computer for several more hours until he crawls into bed. This took a little adjusting. I learned to accept it for what it is and try to make the most out of it. After a whole month of not being home for dinner, I stopped stressing out about it and waiting for him, and instead served dinner earlier and then did something fun with the kids after dinner. We have had a great time at the park, feedings ducks, and flying kites. Poor Michael eats cold food every night, but that’s our life right now.

* Michael got a new suit. Doesn’t he look handsome?

* Don’t I look beautiful with all of the flowers in my hair? The kids wanted to do my hair for mother’s day and this is the creation they came up with!

* I’ve spent over 20 hours on the phone the last few weeks dealing with doctors and insurance companies for problems on coverage and getting appointments set up. So frustrating. We are in full throttle of getting all our issues taken care of and have either seen or will see in the next couple of months the dentist, orthodontist, pediatrician, gynecologist, dermatologist, endocrinologist, psychiatrist, orthopedic doctor, and the family doctor. Phew. Even though we met all our deductibles already, our insurance company has messed up and so we have the joy of dealing with all of these incorrect bills. It’s a lovely process (insert sarcasm here).

* Michael wants me to start exercising with him, and wants me to try P90X. Hmmmm. He also suggested changing my diet. Apparently he doesn’t think exercising for 30 minutes followed by crashing on the couch with soda and a donut is very productive. I need to take baby steps. I’ll give it a try. I have 15lbs of baby weight to lose but it’s gonna take a while, and I HATE exercising. I’ll try the exercise first and cut down on the donuts later…

* Actually, there are some things I like, but I don’t have time for them right now. Twice in the last month I took off when Michael got home and took half an hour for myself. It was bliss. Once I went swimming and just swam laps for 30 minutes, and the other time I got on a bike and went on a 6 mile ride through the HEAVENLY town of Midway. I love it here so much. It’s like living on a vacation. When we came back I had visions of getting back into shape by taking the three girls on long bikes to the park for picnics and fun. We had a bike trailer that would fit an infant car seat and a toddler in, and I wanted to put the other toddler on the bike seat behind me. My dream fell to pieces. We had to get a new trailer which doesn’t fit the car seat. I guess they don’t make them like that any more. It can fit the two girls, but I have to wear Grace in the baby carrier on my chest which isn’t exactly safe and makes me nervous every time. I don’t mind doing it around Valais or on bike trails, but not on the road. We live in a very hilly area, and each time I’ve gone out, I can’t even make it to the main road where the bike trail is! I am so out of shape, although to give myself credit, it’s not an easy task carrying/pulling over 100 lbs of extra weight with me!

* While I was off on my “two 30-minute adventures”, the rest of the family were having adventures of their own! Michael took them on some short hikes to explore new places in Midway. The kids had a blast, but I think they wore Dad out!

* Check out Grace’s cheeky face in her passport photo. She kept sticking her tongue out and thought it was so funny!

* The kids are in their own private soccer camp right now and they love it.

* I had a few friends come up and hang out. Love that. Check out the photo of my with my friend’s daughter. She has freckles on her nose and looks more like me than my own daughters do!

* Hannah had her cast off and is now in a brace for a couple of weeks. It’s pretty scary seeing someone sawing at your child’s arm!

* We bought a dining table and chairs second hand and are re-doing them to match the new house. I’ve been busy sanding them down and then we will varnish them. Gotta love using a power tool!

* Some really nice people from church threw a little surprise party for me on Saturday and cooked Indian food from scratch and then we played games. It was so much fun. I love it when you find people that you connect with and can just have a great time. I laughed so hard that night. It felt good.

* That about sums it up. We are only a few weeks away from moving and then my sister is coming out to visit. Hoping that things may calm down by the end of the summer! Enjoy the photos.

Leave a Reply

Categories

