Posted by: monsonmadness | May 24, 2013

The last year of my life

My birthday was on Saturday and I was thinking about what I did on my birthday last year. (Click here to read about it).

It is hard to believe that this time last year I was a kindergarten teacher. That seems like eons ago. On the day of my birthday, we had a school music concert, and so we spent the day doing a dress rehearsal, sewing last minute costumes, and basically running around like headless chickens. Here are some photos of the concert…

DSC_0009 DSC_0031 DSC_0067 DSC_0074 DSC_0115 DSC_0131 DSC_0135 DSC_0214

I remember that I was supposed to do something exciting, and the best thing I could come up with was climbing a coconut tree!

DSC03148

DSC03151

Anyway, I am just so blown away by the events of the last year. Truly it feels like some of these things happened 4 or 5 years ago.

Since my birthday last year, we went to New Zealand, Samoa, Fiji, Australia, and Hawaii. I wasn’t even pregnant this time last year, but I went through a pregnancy and now have an 11 week old baby. I home schooled my kids. I coached a soccer team. We experienced (kind of) our first hurricane. We spent Christmas day swimming in the ocean. I took care of lots of medical issues (remember Mary’s abscess?). I killed a LOT of creatures. I saved my child from drowning. We cleared a dead dog out of our garage. I ran over a dog. I tried paddle boarding. I met some wonderful friends. We moved from American Samoa back to Utah. We bought a car. We bought a house.

It is safe to say that the last twelve months have brought a lot of change to our family. I feel so blessed for the many opportunities I have had to learn and grow. I have been stretched very thinly at times, and there have been times when life was really hard, but I know it was all for our good, and I’ve tried to look for how I could grow from these experiences.   I am so grateful for the wonderful people who have loved and supported me this last year. I am one lucky lady.

Responses

  1. That is one crazy year!! And you handled all the ups and downs with grace and are always an example to me.

  2. This coming year involves a visit to Portland, right!?! Actually, we’ll be out there in August – around the 10th – will you be around?

    • Oh yeah! Would LOVE to see you. Would you like to come over for dinner or something, or do you want to meet up somewhere fun? I’m sure you don’t have much time…are you visiting family?

  3. reading this all memories of you while you mentioned the time who and your family over the territory of am samoa. so glad to hear all your inspirational stories.. yes life over is here is hard but a reward for raising families. All for good and for the better. wanna hear more Helen..Loads of love
    Ala


Leave a Reply

Categories

