Posted by: monsonmadness | June 11, 2013

Monkey Mountain and the magic of childhood

Life is nuts right now. We are moving house on Saturday and I am the lone packer! I am also in charge of the two tenants we have (old house and new house). I spent yesterday in utter chaos as one tenant moved out and another moved in. There were carpets to be cleaned, blinds to hang, paint touch ups to do, garbage and other junk to get rid of, door latches to replace and oil spills to clean up. Not fun, but thank goodness for security deposits! I also had to move all of our food storage and some other personal belongs from our old house to our new one. Eight car loads of heavy lifting when it’s over 100 degrees is hard work.

Add to that a physical therapy appointment for Matthew getting fitted for new feet braces, him getting sun stroke playing outside and throwing up in the car on the way home, and it all makes for a lovely day! Good job I’ve got great friends (again) and a willing father-in-law who helped out with the kids for a very long day.

When we’re actually home, I’ve been spending hours on end sanding and staining our new dining set. It’s starting to look normal and I think it will be ready by Saturday (fingers crossed). I found a design that I liked for some benches, so changed up the dimensions to fit our huge table and asked Michael to build them last Saturday. He loves to build (although not to sand and stain I have unfortunately discovered) so was happy to oblige. Now we’ll be able to fit 10 people around the square table instead of 8.

While I am running around like a headless chicken trying to do all of this, my kids have had lots of free time to ride their bikes and watch movies. They love watching Oliver and Annie, and other than the joy of hearing them sing those great musical songs, it’s an added bonus that they think they have such a great life since they’re not orphans stuck in a work house with only gruel to eat!

I’ve been trying to cram in a few fun things for them to do every once in a while. The other day, I took them to Monkey Mountain, a new indoor play center in Park City (thank you Groupon). The kids were over the moon and had such a great time. As I held Grace and watched them play, I was full of gratitude that all my kids are enjoying the magical age of childhood right now, meaning all 6 of them are happy to play and imagine and pretend for hours on end. They are all in the same age range where they can enjoy the same activities, and that makes life as a parent so much easier. It’s not going to last long. When Grace is old enough to run around and play at parks etc, Matthew and Benjamin will be teenagers, and won’t be so interested. Planning activities for young children and teenagers is going to become a lot harder. I am going to appreciate this time for as long as I can because I love watching how happy the children are with the simplest things. Sometimes I wish I could be a kid again. But not for long.

Responses

  1. Wow. Crazy times for you! I would definitely help you out if I lived closer, but let me know if there is anything you can think of that I can do to help.
    My boys LOVED Monkey Mountain!!

  2. life sounds crazy. baby grace is so cute!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

